College of Medicine

Volume 10, Number 5

January  2002

Educational Support Office Newsletter

Educational Support Grant Applications - Due March 1, 2002

Educational Support grants will be made available to faculty in support of educational endeavors which will benefit the individual, students, and College of Medicine. Individual grants will be for a one year period.


  • Eligibility - Faculty members who are involved in the teaching of students.
  • Frequency - No more than one grant awarded to an individual every two to three years.
  • Amount - Up to $5000 per grant will be available.
  • Application - A one to two page application will be required (see below)
  • Selection process - An Educational Support Grant Committee will review the applications and make recommendations to the Dean for final approval.
  • Deadline - March 1, 2002

Application - One to two pages maximum

  • Name
  • Educational credentials of applicant
  • Project request (salary support not available) Examples include - Support for participation in an educational seminar, educational research project, purchase of educational materials, etc.
  • Amount requested with budget
  • Outcome measures impact/benefits to the applicant, students, COM, etc.
  • Note: A summary letter to the Dean will be required at the end of the year

Send application to:
Educational Grant,
Educational Development Center
Zip 2220



Faculty Honor's / AOA Convocation

The annual faculty honor's convocation and AOA recognition of new members will be held at noon on Thursday, March 28, 2002 in Eppley Science Hall Auditorium. Joseph P. Vacanti, M.D. a graduate from the University of Nebraska College of Medicine will be the featured speaker. He is director of pediatric transplantation at Massachusetts General Hospital and Professor of Surgery at Harvard Medical School.

Faculty will be recognized for special awards and honors and new members of AOA will be recognized. Please send a list of your honors to your department chairperson/ division director by February 1, 2002.